What is Summon?
Summon is a "Google-like" tool that searches many DelVal databases (and the book catalog) simultaneously. This single-search option is a nice time saver, and it often uncovers resources that you might otherwise have overlooked. You'll get lots of results, so take advantage of the limiter options on the left side of the results screen.
- Summon This link opens in a new window
A research tool that searches all DelVal databases simultaneously. Contains books, ebooks, dvds, online videos, journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, and more.
See how easy it is to start your research!
Are you ready to start using the Summon service to do research at your library? This video will explain the basics of searching for content, refining the results using facets and filters, accessing content, and saving citations. Your library’s Summon interface will look somewhat different than this, but the tools and features are common to the Summon service at most libraries.
Having trouble identifying your research topic?
Not able to contact a librarian at the moment and having trouble defining your research topic?
Keep your eye on the right side of your search results, when you do a search you may be presented with helpful information for defining your research topic:
- An overview of your research topic
- Contact information for a librarian knowledgeable about the topic
- Related topics that might better fit your research question
- Research guides providing insight into the topic
What is being searched?
These databases are NOT included in Summon searches:
- Data USA
- Digital Cat Library
- eTRAK
These databases ARE included in Summon searches:
- ABI/Inform
- Academic Video Online
- Access Emergency Medicine
- Access Medicine
- Access Pediatrics
- Access Surgery
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
- AVMA Journals Online
- BioOne
- Birds of the World
- Criminal Justice Periodicals Collection
- Dissertations & Theses Global
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- eBook Central
- ERIC
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Health Research Premium Collection
- Infobase eBooks
- JSTOR
- MEDLINE
- Mergent Intellect
- ProQuest Central
- ProQuest One Business
- PsycARTICLES
- PsycINFO
- PsycTESTS
- PsycTHERAPY
- PubMed
- Reference USA
- SAGE Journals
- Salem Press Critical insights eBooks
- ScienceDirect
- SciFinder Scholar
- Taylor & Francis eBooks
- Westlaw Academic