|Content||Original research and experimentation||Industry/trade trends, products, and news||Current events, opinions, and general information|
|Look||Plain, long articles, may contain charts and graphs||Glossy, contains photos and industry/trade related advertisements||Glossy, contains color photos and everyday product advertisements|
|Authors||Experts in their field||Industry specialists or staff writers||Journalists/reporters, staff or freelance writers|
|Audience||Professors, researchers, students||Members of the particular industry or trade||Anyone|
|Language||Academic and technical||Jargon of the industry||Written in a language for anyone to understand|
|Documentation||Footnotes or bibliography||Occasionally contain cited sources||References may be mentioned in text|
We have many different databases for all kinds of research projects. Use the drop-down menu to select the one that is right for you.
Summon is a "Google-like" tool that searches many DelVal databases (and the book catalog) simultaneously. This single-search option is a nice time saver, and it often uncovers resources that you might otherwise have overlooked. You'll get lots of results, so take advantage of the limiter options on the left side of the results screen.
RefWorks is a new way to collect, manage, and organize research. You can read, annotate, organize, and cite your research as well as collaborate by sharing collections.
From simple bibliographies to papers formatted with in-text citations or footnotes, RefWorks handles it all. To learn more about RefWorks, use our RefWorks research guide.
To create a RefWorks account:
Already have an account? Just go to the link below and click "Log In"
NOTE: MLA treats quotations and paraphrasing the same.
(Last name Page)
(Dorris and Erdrich 23)
More than two authors
(Last name et al. Page)
(Burdick et al. 42)
Last name, First name. "Article Title." Journal Title, vol., no. if available, year, pages. Database, if available. Stable URL, if available.
Borroff, Marie. "Sound Symbolism as Drama in the Poetry of Robert Frost." PMLA, vol. 107, no. 1, Jan. 1992, pp. 131-44. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/462806.
Journal article with multiple authors
When a source has more than two authors, include Last name, First name, et al.
Last name, First name, and First name Last name. "Article Title." Journal Title, vol., no. if available, year, pages. Database, if available. Stable URL, if available.
Dorris, Michael, and Louise Erdich. "The Crown of Columbus." PMLA, vol. 120, no. 3, May 1997, pp. 182-44. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/462806.
Last name, first name. Book Title. Publisher, abbreviated as appropriate, year.
Borroff, Marie. Language and the Poet: Verbal Artistry in Frost, Stevens, and Moore. U of Chicago P, 1979.
Book with multiple authors
When a source has three or more authors, reverse the first name and follow it with a comma and et al.
Last name, first name, et al. Book Title. Publisher, abbreviated as appropriate, year.
Burdick, Anne, et al. Digital Humanities, MIT P, 2012.
Chapter in edited book
Last name, first name. "Chapter Title." Book Title, edited by Editor, Publisher, abbreviated as appropriate, year, pp. pages.
Bazin, Patrick. "Toward Metareading." The Future of the Book, edited by Geoffry Nunberg, U of California P, 1996, pp. 153-68.
Last name, First name. “Article Title.” Newspaper Title, First name Last name of any other contributors, Version, Numbers, Date of publication, Location.
Tumola, Cristabelle. “NYC Developers Seek to Justify High Prices with New Amenities.” Metro [New York City], 9 Aug. 2016, p. 4.
Sometimes, websites do not clearly state who wrote the information on the page. When no author is listed, omit the author information from the citation. Start the citation with the title.
Last name, First name. “Article or Page Title.” Website Title, Name of the publisher, Date of publication, URL.
White, Lori. “The Newest Fad in People Helping People: Little Free Pantries.” Upworthy, Cloud Tiger Media, 3 Aug. 2016,
WHAT IS AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY?
An annotated bibliography is a list of citations. What makes it different from a Works Cited or standard Bibliography is that each citation is followed followed by 1-2 paragraphs which inform the reader about the source. You should reflect on how you plan to incorporate a source into your paper.
1. The citation
In MLA format. Arranged alphabetically by author's last name.
2. The summary
Provide a brief overview detailing what your article or book is about. You can discuss the authority of the author, the intended audience, or how this fits into the literature in that field.
3. The analysis
Explain why this article or book is important to your argument. Show how it supports and/or refutes your argument. You might also discuss its limitations or biases. Be as specific as possible.
The Writing Center is staffed by DelVal undergraduate peer tutors who help with writing assignments in all your courses. We view writing as a process that involves planning, reading, drafting, revising, and editing—writing with substance involves discovering your meaning through brainstorming, sharing, and getting lots of feedback.
Tutors help you gain a fresh perspective on the writing process, and can assist with any stage of the process: choosing a topic or working through writer's block, generating ideas, creating an outline, sharpening a thesis, arranging and organizing paragraphs, citing correctly and fluently, editing grammar and mechanics, and more.
Instructors receive a copy of the tutor report completed during the session, to illustrate your engagement with the writing process and meeting the demands of writing across disciplines.
Services are on a walk-in basis, so no appointment is necessary. Schedules are posted in the Writing Center, on Inside DelVal, and on professors' Blackboard course pages.
Tutors look forward to working with you!